New ASA Board Members and Officers Elected

KANSAS CITY, Missouri (November 1, 2023) – During the American Shorthorn Association Annual Meeting on October 22, 2023, delegates from across the country gathered at the Hilton Kansas City Airport to elect new ASA board members.

The nominating committee submitted three candidates for the available positions. Tyler Cates from Ind., Cory Bollum from Minn., and Mark Gordon from Ill. All three will serve a three-year term; Cates and Cory will serve their first term, Gordon will serve his second term. 

The board elected new officers for the nine-member board. The new president of the board is Toby Jordan of Ind. The vice-president is Lee Miller of Ohio and the executive director is John Sonderman of Neb. They serve alongside Jeff Bedwell of Okla., John Russell of Texas, and Rick Osterday of South Dakota.

About ASA

The American Shorthorn Association’s mission is to serve all members, protect the integrity of the herdbook and database; enhance and communicate the value of the Shorthorn breed, and expand the use of Shorthorn genetics in the U.S. beef industry. Visit to learn more.

American Shorthorn Association :: 7607 NW Prairie View Road, Kansas City, MO 64151:: 816.599.7777


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *