American Shorthorn Association Announces National Show Animals of the Year

KANSAS CITY, Missouri (May 15, 2024) – The American Shorthorn Association announces the 2023-2024 National Show Animals of the Year. Awards will be presented to owners during the 2024 Annual Meeting and Awards Banquet on Saturday, October 26th in Kansas City, Mo.

The 2023-2024 show season was comprised of two super national & five national shows occurring between April 2023 and March 2024. Qualifying animals exhibited at a minimum of two shows during the show season, acquiring points at each for their placings in class, division and overall.

“Shorthorn breeders and exhibitors alike have brought the best of the best to each show ring this past year, we are excited to recognize the efforts made by Shorthorn exhibitors.” explains Wade Minihan, Director of Shows for the American Shorthorn Association.

Claiming reign as the National Shorthorn Show Female of the Year was CF Crystal Lucy 230 RK X ET shown by Paige Wickard and Carter Wickard of Wilkinson, Ind.

Armstrong Farms of Saxonburg, Pa., Little Cedar Cattle Company of Beaverton, Mich. and The Bollum Family of Austin, Minn. campaigned BFS LCCC AFLC Direct Deposit 2254 ET and was named the National Shorthorn Show Bull of the Year.

S/T CULL Dream of Me 3011 ET exhibited by Whitney Swaim of Rockville, Ind. claimed the title of National ShorthornPlus Show Female of the Year.

TESCC Almighty Zeus 755J ET owned by Mitchell Barros of Owasso, Okla. garnished the National ShorthornPlus Show Bull of the Year award.

More information regarding the ASA Show System, including participating shows and point distribution may be found at

Ownership provided is reflective of ownership during the awarded show season.


The American Shorthorn Association’s mission is to serve all members, protect the integrity of the herdbook and database; enhance and communicate the value of the Shorthorn breed, and expand the use of Shorthorn genetics in the U.S. beef industry.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *